Meet Lexi!

No, he is not a desert tortoise, that is still on the back burner.  

I visited the Humane Society a couple of months ago and came home with Vesper, promptly renamed Lexi.  The Society had named him Vesper for some unfathomable reason, but it was clear, at least to me, that he did not care for that name – he never responded when I called him Vesper.  I thought a change to something that flowed from the tongue a bit better was in order.  So Lexi it is, and he does come when I call him.

According to the Humane Society, Lexi is a Papillon mix – I should also add that there seems to be an awful lot of Chihuahua in that mix.   He has turned out to be a very sweet, friendly little dog that thankfully came home already housebroken.  There have been no accidents at all.    🙂     Lexi is already friends with the Yorkie next door, the dogs (5 very large ones and a Silky terrier) that we occasionally go with on early morning walks in the park, and every other dog and human he has met.  What a pleasure!

 

For the first few weeks, wherever I went in the house, there was a little cold nose bumping into the back of my calf – he did not and still does not really like to be left alone. Things have improved, and he now ventures alone to all parts of the house.

 

 

One interesting thing he did is that when he thought I was not looking, he would pick up a toy and literally tiptoe out of the room.  But as soon as he got to the hallway, he would run with the toy and I could hear him thrashing it and playing with it out of sight.  Did he once live with other dogs/kids/adults that would steal his toys?  Guess I will never find out.  But I am happy to say that he now feels comfortable enough to play with this toys in places where he knows I can see him.

Lexi weighed 7 pounds when I adopted him.  Living on the streets (he was found roaming the streets) even for what I guess was not a very long time does take a toll, specially on a small animal.  When we visited the vet about 2 weeks after adopting him, he had already gained .8 pounds, but the vet thinks that weighing between 9 to 10 pounds would be appropriate for him.  He is now up to 8.4 pounds and seems to have stabilized at that weight.  An increase of 1.4 pounds does not sound like much, but it is a 20% increase in weight from when I first got him.  Other than that, the vet gave him a clean bill of health and it was a relief to hear him say “see you next year”. 

 

 

 

 

 

